Marisa of the Gravehowl

Marisa of the Gravehowl {3}{B}{G}

Legendary Creature - Human Pirate
First mate—Each nonland card in your starting deck has “destroy,” “die,” “graveyard,” and/or “mill” in its printed rules text. (If this card outside the game is your chosen first mate, you may swap it with a card in your opening hand.)
When Marisa enters the battlefield, if it was cast, you may put target permanent card from a graveyard onto the battlefield under your control.
  • Marisa of the Gravehowl is legal in every format.
  • 2018-09-03 Marisa's first mate ability looks for cards using the game terms 'destroy', 'die', 'graveyard', and 'mill', not that exact arrangement of letters. This means Marisa can be the first mate of a deck running Hushbringer (which says "Creatures entering the battlefield or dying don't cause abilities to trigger."), but not Bloodied Ghost (which says "Bloodied Ghost enters the battlefield with a -1/-1 counter on it."

View gallery of all printings